15 doctoral thesis fellowships in early stage drug discovery

15 international doctoral thesis fellowships in structure-based drug discovery in the EU Innovative Training Network AEGIS

AEGIS (Accelerated Early staGe drug dIScovery) is a Marie Skłodowska -Curie Innovative Training Network (ITN) for early stage researchers (ESR) funded by the European Commission under the H2020 Programme, the EU framework programme for research and innovation.

A key research aim of AEGIS is improving the efficiency and success of early stage drug development by combining innovative methods and techniques to tackle difficult but promising targets (i.e. protein-protein interactions), as potentially valuable drug targets are often neglected due to the high risk associated with their validation.  AEGIS is a collaborative action of 11 groups in 7 countries from academia and pharmaceutical industry, combining a balanced portfolio of excellent expertise knowledge of structural and computational based drug design. 

AEGIS offers a comprehensive and cross-disciplinary structured curriculum for doctoral students in early drug discovery. 15 doctoral thesis fellowships are available in the areas structural biology using NMR and crystallography, computational structural biology and medicinal chemistry.

Further information and application: http://www.aegis-itn.eu/vacancies/
Eligible applicants must fulfill the Marie-Curie mobility criteria, and must not have stayed in the country of the host lab for more than 1 year during the last 3 years.

Deadline for applications: 20 Dec 2015

  • ESR1: Structural biology (NMR, crystallography) detection of conformational dynamics and transient pockets in protein targets.  (Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany)
  • ESR2: Computational approaches for combining fragment-based screening and multicomponent reactions (Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany)
  • ESR3: Fragment-based approach to perturb PPI formation (Phillips-University Marburg, Germany)
  • ESR4: Characterization and comparative analysis of fragment binding by X-rays and complementary biophysical methods (Phillips-University Marburg, Germany)
  • ESR5: Design, synthesis and in vitro screening of novel molecules to control the oligomeric state of malate dehydrogenase (University Groningen, Netherlands)
  • ESR6: Using binding kinetics for drug discovery, (University Uppsala, Sweden)
  • ESR7: Design, synthesis and use of compounds to identify and characterize allosteric sites of UMPK (Institut Pasteur, France)
  • ESR8: Innovative inhibition strategy against functional structural transitions of essential pathogenic virulence factors(Institut Pasteur, France)
  • ESR9: Structural analysis of fragment-protein and ligand-protein complexes. (Jagellonian University in Kraków, Poland)
  • ESR10: Computational analysis of compound libraries and screening (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • ESR11: Characterization of intracellular molecular interactions in living cells (Ridgeview Instruments AB, Sweden)
  • ESR12: Discovery of novel chemotypes for the treatment of trypanosomatid and apicomplexan protozoal infections (Novartis Pharma AG, Switzerland)
  • ESR13: Fragment based-MCR platform and web-based implementation (University Groningen, Netherlands)
  • ESR14: Characterization of 14-3-3 PPI and identification of isoform-specific small molecule modulators (AstraZeneca AB, Sweden)
  • ESR15: Design, synthesis and optimization of paramagnetic tags. Hit optimization. (Giotto Biotech Srl, Italy)