Minerva projects at the Weizmann Institute of Science provide the opportunity for early-stage German researchers (e.g. young graduate students) to visit the Institute to participate in a scientific collaborative effort.

Weizmann Institute researchers with an e-mail address next to their name welcome such visits within the framework of their project. If you are interested in applying to visit one of the researchers below in the framework of this program, you are requested to contact the relevant researcher by clicking the e-mail link next to his/her name.

   Chemistry   Life Sciences   Mathematics and Computer Science   Physics   

Chemistry (22)

Department Scientist Project Title
Department of Chemical PhysicsProf. Ilya Averbukh
ilya.averbukh@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Quantum resonances, Anderson localization and Bloch oscillations in laser-excited molecules
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Chemical PhysicsProf. Daniella Goldfarb
daniella.goldfarb@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Deciphering the molecular level mechanism of RNA helicases by novel EPR spectroscopy
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Chemical PhysicsProf. Gilad Haran
gilad.haran@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Single-molecule studies of the folding and function of a two-domain protein: Phosphoglycerate kinase
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Chemical PhysicsProf. Eli Pollak
eli.pollak@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Electronic structure via coherent control of time and phase dependent quantum dynamics
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Chemical PhysicsProf. David Tannor
david.tannor@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Control of multielectron dynamics and harmonic generation
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Earth and Planetary SciencesProf. Brian Berkowitz
brian.berkowitz@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Reactive chemical transport in porous media
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Earth and Planetary SciencesProf. Yinon Rudich
yinon.rudich@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Heterogeneous ice nucleation in the atmosphere: Laboratory and field studies on the properties and processes that determine ice nucleation in mixed phase clouds
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Earth and Planetary SciencesProf. Dan Yakir
dan.yakir@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
The role of H2S derived from atmospheric COS in stomatal response to environmental change
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Materials and InterfacesProf. David Cahen
david.cahen@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Towards protein-based bio-electronics: Elucidating fundamental differences and similarities between electron transfer and solid-state electron transport
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Materials and InterfacesProf. Jacob Klein
jacob.klein@weizmann.ac.il
Interfacial modification of scaffolds for tissue engineering via phosphocholinated vectors: Templated nanogels, dendrimers, and nanoparticles
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Materials and InterfacesProf. Igor Lubomirsky
igor.lubomirsky@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Enhanced electrostriction in thin films of oxygen ion conducting ceramics
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Materials and InterfacesProf. Jacob Sagiv
jacob.sagiv@weizmann.ac.il
Site-targeted interfacial solid-state chemistry
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Materials and InterfacesProf. Daniel Hanoch Wagner
daniel.wagner@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
From sponge spicule to multi-scale synthetic composites: Bio-inspiration at work
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Organic ChemistryProf. Gershom (Jan) Martin
gershom@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Robust computational modeling of catalysis and supramolecular chemistry by means of novel fifth-rung functionals and ab initio methods
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Organic ChemistryProf. David Milstein
david.milstein@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Novel iron pincer complexes
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Organic ChemistryProf. Ronny Neumann
ronny.neumann@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Multicentered and multifunctional catalysts for the photosplitting of carbon dioxide
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Organic ChemistryProf. Boris Rybtchinski
boris.rybtchinski@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Noncovalent membranes with tunable porosity and their application for separation of biomolecules
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Organic ChemistryProf. Milko van der Boom
milko.vanderboom@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Coordination-polymer nanotubes: Formation and function
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Structural BiologyDr. Ron Diskin
ron.diskin@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Structural studies of Glycoprotein Spike Complexes from arenaviruses
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Structural BiologyProf. Amnon Horovitz
amnon.horovitz@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Engineering chaperonin-dependent proteins to be chaperonin-independent: Experimental testing and computational analyses
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Structural BiologyProf. Koby Levy
koby.levy@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Protein searches for target sites on genomic DNA: Correlating molecular properties, cellular abundance, and function
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Structural BiologyProf. Abraham Minsky
avi.minsky@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Structural, proteomics and biochemical studies of cytoplasmic viral factories
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)

   Chemistry   Life Sciences   Mathematics and Computer Science   Physics   

Life Sciences (30)

Department Scientist Project Title
Department of Biological ChemistryProf. Eitan Bibi
e.bibi@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Transcripts encoding membrane proteins: Unique properties and biogenesis
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Biological ChemistryProf. Michael Fainzilber
mike.fainzilber@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Spatial regulation of mTOR in neurons
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Biological ChemistryDr. Sarel-Jacob Fleishman
sarel.fleishman@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
High-resolution experimental mapping of protein interactions in biological membranes
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Biological ChemistryProf. Anthony H. Futerman
tony.futerman@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
The pathogenesis of neuronal forms of Gaucher disease
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Biological ChemistryDr. Michal Sharon
michal.sharon@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Mechanistic basis for inhibition of the 20S proteasome
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Biological ChemistryProf. Avraham Yaron
avraham.yaron@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Elucidating the regulation of Kinesin Superfamily Protein 2A (KIF2A) during axonal degeneration
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Biological RegulationDr. Ayelet Erez
ayelet.erez@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Urea cycle enzymes’ role in osteosarcoma
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Biological RegulationDr. Lilach Gilboa
lilach.gilboa@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Hormonal and nutritional control of gonadogenesis in Drosophila melanogaster
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Biological RegulationProf. Atan Gross
atan.gross@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
The role and importance of the ATM-BID pathway in health and disease
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Biological RegulationDr. Igor Ulitsky
igor.ulitsky@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Co-transcriptional and post-transcriptional functions of long noncoding RNA genes in endodermal differentiation
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of ImmunologyDr. Jakub Abramson
jakub.abramson@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Post-translational modifications of the autoimmue regulator (Aire)
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of ImmunologyProf. Ronen Alon
ronen.alon@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Novel actin remodeling checkpoints in endothelial cells critical for leukocyte transendothelial migration
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of ImmunologyDr. Eran Elinav
eran.elinav@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Deciphering the mechanisms of Nod-like receptor proteins and inflammasomes on adipose tissue function in steady state and in obesity
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of ImmunologyDr. Nir Friedman
nir.friedman@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Mapping the structure of the T cell receptor repertoire in the mouse using high-throughput sequencing: From organizing principles to clonal sharing and antigen response
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of ImmunologyProf. Steffen Jung
s.jung@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Probing silencing modules of microglia
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Molecular Cell BiologyProf. Elior Peles
peles@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Role of cell adhesion molecules present at the axoglial interface in myelination
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Molecular Cell BiologyDr. Oren Schuldiner
oren.schuldiner@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
How JNK signaling and cell adhesion control developmental axon pruning
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Molecular Cell BiologyDr. Ravid Straussman
ravidst@weizmann.ac.il
Studying the potential of secretome-mediated chemoresistance in BRAF-mutated melanoma
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Molecular Cell BiologyProf. Yehiel Zick
yehiel.zick@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
The mammalian lectin galectin-8 as a new player in bone remodeling
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Molecular GeneticsProf. Naama Barkai
naama.barkai@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
The ‘dual-transporter’ motif in nutrient homeostasis
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Molecular GeneticsProf. Ari Elson
ari.elson@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Role of PTPROt in chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Molecular GeneticsDr. Jacob (Yaqub) Hanna
jacob.hanna@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
High resolution mapping of chromatin and transcriptional dynamics during deterministic somatic cell reprogramming to pluripotency
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Molecular GeneticsDr. Maya Schuldiner
maya.schuldiner@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Uncovering the cytosolic machinery which mediates Signal Recognition Particle (SRP) independent ER targeting
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Molecular GeneticsProf. Ben-Zion Shilo
benny.shilo@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
The mechanistic basis for achieving fidelity in embryonic patterning
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Molecular GeneticsProf. Rotem Sorek
rotem.sorek@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
A novel phage resistance system widespread in bacteria
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Molecular GeneticsProf. Talila Volk
talila.volk@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Keeping cytoplasmic order within a contracting muscle fiber
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Molecular GeneticsProf. Elazar Zelzer
eli.zelzer@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
The mechanisms that underlie bone morphology
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of NeurobiologyProf. Ehud Ahissar
ehud.ahissar@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Coordinated action of vibrissal loops: Brainstem and thalamus
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of NeurobiologyProf. Rony Paz
rony.paz@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
The balance between amygdala and anterior-cingulate-cortex during flexible aversive learning with selective-serotonin-reuptake-inhibitors (SSRI): an electrophysiological study in behaving primates
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of NeurobiologyDr. Michal Rivlin
michal.rivlin@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Structure function relationships in neural circuits: how are they altered following sensory stimulation, and what are the consequences of these alterations
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)

   Chemistry   Life Sciences   Mathematics and Computer Science   Physics   

Mathematics and Computer Science (6)

Department Scientist Project Title
Department of Computer Science and Applied MathematicsProf. Oded Goldreich
oded.goldreich@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Randomness and computation
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of MathematicsDr. Avraham Rami Aizenbud
avraham.aizenbud@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Topological vector spaces in representation theory
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of MathematicsProf. Ehud Friedgut
ehud.friedgut@weizmann.ac.il
Thresholds, sharp and coarse
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of MathematicsDr. Dmitry Gourevitch
dmitry.gourevitch@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Multiplicities of degenerate Whittaker functionals
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of MathematicsProf. Erez Lapid
erez.lapid@weizmann.ac.il
Applications of the trace formula
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of MathematicsProf. Dmitry Novikov
dmitry.novikov@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Integrability of foliations and pseudoAbelian integrals
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)

   Chemistry   Life Sciences   Mathematics and Computer Science   Physics   

Physics (21)

Department Scientist Project Title
Department of Condensed Matter PhysicsDr. Haim Beidenkopf
haim.beidenkopf@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Electronic correlations of coupled nanowire
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Condensed Matter PhysicsDr. Erez Berg
erez.berg@weizmann.ac.il
Strongly correlated phases in wires and interfaces
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Condensed Matter PhysicsProf. Yuval Gefen
yuval.gefen@weizmann.ac.il
Neutral modes in fractional quantum hall systems : topological numbers and dephasing
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Condensed Matter PhysicsProf. Moty Heiblum
moty.heiblum@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
One dimensional semiconductor-superconductor junctions: hubs for majorana quasiparticles and entangled electrons
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Condensed Matter PhysicsDr. Shahal Ilani
shahal.ilani@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Imaging electronic localization at the LaAlO3/SrTiO3 interface
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Condensed Matter PhysicsProf. Dan Shahar
dan.shahar@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Little-parks oscillations in an insulator
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Condensed Matter PhysicsProf. Adi Stern
adiel.stern@weizmann.ac.il
Studies of non-abelian states of matter
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Condensed Matter PhysicsProf. Eli Zeldov
eli.zeldov@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Towards nanoSQUIDs with single electron spin sensitivity
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Particle Physics and AstrophysicsProf. Ofer Aharony
ofer.aharony@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Field theory dualities in various dimensions
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Particle Physics and AstrophysicsProf. Micha Berkooz
micha.berkooz@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Confinement via the AdS/CFT correspondence
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Particle Physics and AstrophysicsProf. Amos Breskin
amos.breskin@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
A novel concept for large-volume noble-liquid radiation detectors of rare events
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Particle Physics and AstrophysicsProf. Michael Hass
michael.hass@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Precision measurements of the beta-neutrino correlation with an electrostatic ion trap – a novel method
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Particle Physics and AstrophysicsProf. Yitzhak Maron
yitzhak.maron@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Study of radiative properties of warm dense matter using high-resolution X-Ray tomography and first-principle calculations
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Particle Physics and AstrophysicsDr. Eran Oded Ofek
eran.ofek@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
A search for neutrino emission from transient astrophysical sources: PTF/ZTF+IceCube
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Physics of Complex SystemsProf. Nir Davidson
nir.davidson@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Phase locking of large laser arrays with long range coupling
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)
Department of Physics of Complex SystemsProf. Nirit Dudovich
nirit.dudovich@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Resolving electronic wavefunctions dynamics on an attosecond time scale
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Physics of Complex SystemsProf. Gregory Falkovich
gregory.falkovich@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
New approach to an analytic theory of particle dispersion in turbulence
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Physics of Complex SystemsDr. Ofer Feinerman
ofer.feinerman@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Crazy ants: Coherent decision making by random motions
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Physics of Complex SystemsProf. David Mukamel
david.mukamel@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Steady state properties of driven systems with non-conserving processes
(Jan 1, 2013 - Dec 31, 2015)
Department of Physics of Complex SystemsProf. Yaron Silberberg
yaron.silberberg@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Quantum optics in photonics lattices
(Jan 1, 2014 - Dec 31, 2016)
Department of Physics of Complex SystemsProf. Joel Stavans
joel.stavans@weizmann.ac.il
Homepage
Physical approach in the study of pattern formation during the development of a one-dimensional organism
(Jan 1, 2015 - Dec 31, 2017)