The topics, speakers, and discussion leaders for the conference sessions are displayed below. The conference chair is currently developing their detailed program, which will include the complete meeting schedule, as well as the talk titles for all speakers. The detailed program will be available by February 7, 2019. Please check back for updates.

Plenary Talks

Regine Hengge, Freie University of Berlin

Andreas Baumler , UC davis

Alan Grossman, MIT


Confirmed Speakers:

Ron Dzikowski (Hebrew U)

Michal Shapira (BGU)

Serge Ankri (Technion)

The human microbiome

Confirmed Speakers:

Moran Yassour (Hebrew U)

Nissan Yissachar (BIU)

Sven Peterson (Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, Singapore)

Yehudit Bergman (Hebrew U)

Mycology and Yeast Biology

Confirmed Speakers:

Ronit Weisman (Open U)

Shay Ben Aroya (BIU)

Benny Horwitz (Technion)

Microbial Genetics and evolution

Confirmed Speakers:

Ruth Hershberg (Technion)

Dor Salomon (TAU)

Yonatan Friedman (Hebrew U)

Microbial Biotechnology

Confirmed Speakers:

Ed Bayer (WIS)

Ido Bar Zeev (BGU)

David Burstein (TAU)

Aquatic Microbiota

Confirmed Speakers:

Einat Segev (WIS)

Tamar Lotan (Haifa U)

Gitai Yahel (Ruppin Academic Center)

Environmental and Plant Microbiology

Confirmed Speakers:

Ofir Bahar (ARO)

Maggie Levy (Hebrew U)

Osnat Giloor (BGU)

Molecular Virology

Confirmed Speakers:

Alex Rouvinski (HUJI) 

Oren Kobiler (TAU)

Noam Stern-Ginossar (WIS) 

Structures and functions in the prokaryotes domain

Confirmed Speakers:

Liraz Chai (Hebrew U)

Raz Zarivach (BGU)

Livnat Afriat Jurnou (Migal)

Clinical Virology

Chairs: Dana Wolf (Hebrew U), Meir Shamay (BIU)

Confirmed speakers:

Oran Erster (Kimron Veterinary Institute)
Shai Ashkenazi (Sackler Faculty of Medicine & Adelson School of Medicine Ariel University)
Eric Haas (Epidemiology division of the Israeli Ministry of Health)

Prize Lectures

EMET lecture: Hanna Engleberg-Kulka (Hebrew U)


A call for additional prizes will be opened 1.12.2018.

Abstract submission dead line January 20th.

In parallel with the Passwell International Meeting for Antibiotic Resistance

Organizing committee

  • Erez Mills,
    The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

  • Ilana Kolodkin-Gal,
    Weizmann Institute of Science

Coordinator & Accessibility Issues

Irit Veksler


  • The Chorafas Institute for Scientific Exchange