The Israel Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ISBMB) is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization established by Ephraim Katzir and Shlomo Hestrin in 1959.

The goals of the society are:

  1. Promoting research and teaching in the fields of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Biophysics, Biotechnology, and Molecular Genetics. 
  2. Establishing professional interactions and exchange of information in the above fields, between scientists in Israel and abroad.
  3. Holding conferences, meetings, workshops and seminars, and exchange of information in these fields.
  4. Awarding scholarships, prizes and support to scientists, researchers, teachers and students in Israel and Israelis abroad in the fields of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.
  5. Strengthening the connection between academia, medicine and industry in the above fields

    Call for nominations for the Hestrin Prize of the Israel Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

    The Israel Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will award a prize in Prof. Hestrin's name to a young Israeli and biochemists for acknowledgment and recognition of a specific finding, discovery or invention in the field of biochemistry.

    The Hestrin Prize which will be awarded during the ILANIT /FISEB meeting in Eilat, 17-20 February, 2020, where the awardee will give a prize-lecture at the ISBMB session Engineering & Evolution of Proteins in addition of being awarded the prize of a sum of NIS 5000.

    Eligibility:The candidate for the award must hold the Principle investigator position in one of the Israeli universities or research centers for no more than 10 years.

    Each application must include:

    1. Brief curriculum vitae (up to 2 pages)

    2. PDF file of the main article describing the finding or discovery.

    3. An impact statement describing the importance of the finding, its insights, advance and impact on the biochemistry research community and the field (up to 2 pages).

    The submission deadline is December 1st, 2019. Please send the application in one PDF file to email: danare@mail.huji.ac.il

    The Hestrin Prize is named in honor of Prof. Shlomo Hestrin (1914, Winnipeg, Canada - 1962, Jerusalem, Israel). Shlomo Hestrin occupies a unique position in the Israeli science for introducing modern enzyme research in Israel. He received his MSc and PhD degrees from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, for investigating the fermentation of di- and polysaccharides under the guidance of Prof. Yeshayahu Leibovitz. Later on, he have developed a hydroxamate method for the determination of active esters and investigated the mechanism of synthesis of cellulose which earned him international standing. In 1957, Prof. Hestrin was awarded the Israel Prize in exact sciences, jointly with his colleague, David Sidney Feingold and his student Gad Avigad. Prof. Hestrin was among the prominent biochemists at the Hebrew University and among the founders of the Israel Society of Biochemistry in 1959. Prof. Hestrin's untimely death at the age of 48 left a void in the hearts of those who knew him.