Address: Department of Molecular Chemistry and Materials Science

Weizmann Institute of Science

Rehovot, 76100, Israel

#### Personal:

National service 1967-70; Married + 4 children.

#### Academic education and career

1970 – 1973:	B.A. (1st Class Honours), in Physics, at the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge
	University
1974 – 1977:	Ph.D. degree in the Cavendish Laboratory: "Diffusion of Long Molecules
	Through Bulk Polymers". (Supervisor: David Tabor).
1976 – 1984:	Research Fellow (1976-7) and Fellow in Physics of St.Catharine's College
	Cambridge.
1977	Awarded M.A., Ph.D degrees by Cambridge University.
1977 – 1980:	Post-doctoral Fellow, Department of Polymer Research, Weizmann Institute of
	Science, Rehovot, Israel
1980 – 1984:	Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, University of Cambridge
1980 - 1984	Senior Scientist, Weizmann Institute of Science.
1984 - 1987	Associate Professor, Weizmann Institute of Science.
1986 - present	Herman Mark Professor of Soft Matter Physics, Weizmann Institute of Science
	(Full Professor since 7/1987).
1989 -1991	Head, Polymer Research Department, Weizmann Institute of Science.
1999 - 2000	Chairman of Scientific Council, Weizmann Institute
2000 - 2007	Dr. Lee's Professor of Chemistry, University of Oxford

# **Visiting Positions**

2000 - 2005

1990	Visiting Professor, University of California at Santa Barbara
1991	Visiting Professor, Princeton University
1994	Royal Society Exchange Professor, Oxford University
1996	Visiting Professor, Ecole Polytechnique Federal – Lausanne
2004	Paris Sciences Professor, Ecole Superieure de Physique et Chimie Industrielle, Paris
2008	Frank & Robert Laughlin Professor, Cornell University
2010-19	Visiting Professor, Tsinghua University, Beijing
2017-20	Visiting Professor and Chief Scientist, Beihang University, Beijing

Head of Department, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry Department,

#### Journals (year of appointment)

1988: Editorial Board, 'Macromolecules';

1992: Editorial Board, 'Acta Polymerica' (Guest editor special issue 'Polymer Science in Israel')

1992: Editorial Board, 'Journal of Macromolecular Science' - Polymer Reviews.

1995: Editorial Board, Israel Journal of Chemistry; (Guest editor special issue 'Polymers at surfaces')

1993: Editorial Board, J. Polymer Science: Physics

University of Oxford

2000: Editorial Board, Macromolecular Chemistry and Physics, and Macromolecular Rapid Communications

2001: Editorial Board Liquids and Soft Matter Board, J. Physics: Condensed Matter;

2004: Editorial Board, ChemPhysChem

2013: Editorial Board, Friction

### Selected honours and named lectures

1983:	Somach	Sachs F	Prize, \	Weizn	nann Ins	titute of	Science.
1984:	Charles	Vernon	Boys	Prize,	British	Institute	of Physics,
1007	D 11	XX7 1 1 .		1	1	ъ	1

1987: Dudley Wright Award in Membrane Research

1994: International Kao Fellow, Japan

1995: High Polymer Physics Prize, American Physical Society

1998: Ford Annual Science Lecture (Ford Motor Company, Michigan)

2000:	Whitby Lectures (Akron Univ., Ohio)
2001:	Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry
2002:	Inaugural John D. Ferry Lectures (Univ. of Wisconsin)
2003:	Fellow, American Physical Society
2004:	Paris Sciènce Medal, City of Paris
2004:	Annual Award Lecture of the Japanese Chemical Society
2004:	Fellow, Institute of Physics, UK
2004:	Paris Sciènce Lectures, Ecole Superieure de Physique et Chimie Industrielle, Paris
2007:	Kolthof Prize, Technion Israel Institute of Science
2008:	The Laughlin Lectures, Cornell University
2010:	ERC Advanced Grant Award (2010-2015)
2010:	Israel Chemical Society Prize for Excellence
2011:	Honorary Membership, Israel Polymers & Plastics Society
2011:	Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) Soft Matter and Biophysics Prize and Medal
2012:	Tribology Gold Medal of the International Tribology Trust (top award in field)
2013:	Elected to Academia Europaea
2015:	David Turnbull Award, Materials Research Society
2016:	Elected to Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities
2017:	ERC Advanced Grant Award (2017-2023)
2017:	Liquid Matter Prize of the European Physical Society (awarded once every 3 years)
2019:	Gold Medal of the Israel Chemical Society
2020:	The Rothschild Prize
2021:	Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics of the American Physical Society
2021:	Overbeek Gold Medal of the European Colloid and Interface Society
2021:	Wiley Life Achievements Award

Research: 290+ research papers to date (including ca. 25 in *Science* and *Nature*); H-factor 71/74 (ISI/Google Scholar)

<u>Mentoring</u>: 81 graduate and post-doctoral students to date, of whom 32 currently in tenured (or tenure-track) academic appointments

<u>Invited lectures at international meetings</u>: Over 240 invited keynote/plenary lectures at international meetings since 1993.

<u>Industrial consultancies (past and current)</u>: 1985-1995 Exxon Corporate Research; Unilever; Procter & Gamble; Kodak; Johnson & Johnson; W.R. Grace; Strauss Inc. (Israel, current); Liposphere Ltd. (Israel, current).

## Selected past and present academic positions of trust:

Dutch Academy of Sciences large grants review panel

German Science Foundation review panel for several Schwerpunktprograms

Senior Jury of Institut Universitaire Française

Science Foundation Ireland major grants review panel

Max Planck Society (Germany) Advisory Committee on establishing new MPIs.

Selection panel for Coulson Chair of Theoretical Chemistry, University of Oxford

Chair of Weizmann Institute Central Academic Appointments Committee

Member of Weizmann Institute Tenure and Professorial Appointments committee

Chairman of Scientific Council, Weizmann Institute

Member, Weizmann Institute Presidents Council

Deputy Director (currently: member), International Scientific Academic Advisory Committee, State Key Laboratory of Tribology, Tsinghua University, Beijing.