Prof. Emeritus Reshef Tenne
Department of Materials and Interfaces

Prof. Reshef Tenne, born in Israel, obtained his BSc (1969), MSc (1971) and PhD (1976) in chemistry from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Following a postdoctoral training period at the Battelle Institute in Geneva, he joined the Weizmann Institute of Science in 1979. Prof. Tenne was the Head of the Department of Materials and Interfaces (2000-2007), and the Director of the Gerhard M.J. Schmidt Minerva Center for Supramolecular Architecture (2001-2007). Until his retirement in October 2014, he was the Director of the Helen and Martin Kimmel Center for Nanoscale Science.

Prof. Tenne’s research interests focus on the synthesis, characterization and applications of novel inorganic nanomaterials nicknamed inorganic fullerene-like structures (IF) and inorganic nanotubes (INT). Following his discovery of these structures in 1992, Prof. Tenne has become a pioneer and world leader in this research field. Studying these nanoparticles he found that they possess superior lubrication properties. When added to different lubricating fluids, they cut friction and wear to less. It has since become a product used in industrial machine lubrication- see and Recently, he showed that coatings of various medical devices, like catheters, endoscopes, etc. with the IF nanoparticles improve their entry-retrieval, compared to the current technologies used daily in hospitals. He also synthesized a series of different nanotubes that could serve as nano-size superconductors, for reinforcing polymer nanocomposites and for sensors with applicable uses in various industry-from aerospace technologies to tissue engineering.

Prof. Tenne published more than 300 original papers and about 70 invited chapters in books and review articles. He sits on the board of numerous international journals. Among his prizes and recognitions are the Drake Family Chair of Nanotechnology (2004); the Kolthoff Prize of Chemistry (2005), the Rafael Prize for Excellence in Science of the Israel Vacuum Society (2005), the Materials Research Society (MRS) Medal (2005), the Landau Prize for Nanotechnology by the Israeli Lottery (2006), the Israel Chemical Society Excellence Award (2008), the European Research Council Advanced Research Grant (2008), The CNR Rao Lecture Award (2012) and the Best Paper of the Year Award by the Institute of Civil Engineering (UK) in 2014. He was became a Honorary Research Professor in the Taiwan Technical University of Taipei (2015); recieved the Gold Medal of the Israel Chemical Society (2015) and the Rothschild Prize in Physical and Chemical Sciences (2016), the Plenary Spekaer award of the 12th Int. Conference on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology of Turkey (NanoTr12-2016). He is a fellow of the Materials Research Society (2008), Israeli Vacuum Society (1996) and the World Technology Network (2002). In 2011 he became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and Academia Europaea (the Academy of Europe). In 2017 he became Honorary Fellow of the Israel Society of Microscopy.