top
Physics Core Facilities
Faculty of Physics
Home Electronics & Data Acquisition Group Instrument control, Algorithmics & Numerical Simulations Accelerators & Experimental Facilities Advanced Technologies
General Information Contact Information
THE PHYSICS CORE FACILITIES
Chair: Prof. Avishay Gal-Yam

Avishay Gal-Yam, Professor
Dept. of Particle Physics & Astrophysics
E-mail: Avishay.Gal-Yam@weizmann.ac.il
Phone: +972-8-934-2063, +972-54-768-8876
Fax: +972-8-934-2611
Office: Edna and K.B. Weissman Building of Physical Sciences, Room A277
Homepage: http://www.weizmann.ac.il/home/galyam/


The Physics Core Facilities at the Physics Faculty presently provide advanced technical support and consultancy to WIS scientists, students and technical staff in the following fields:

  • Electronics & Data Acquisition group

    Design and assembly of custom electronics & interfaces and their supporting software; computer-based integration of complex laboratory setups and instrument-repair services.


  • Instrument control, Algorithmics & Numerical Simulations

    Design of Instrument control; algorithms and simulations of complex physical problems; consulting in selection and assembly of commercial equipment


  • Accelerators & Experimental Facilities

    Operation & maintenance of accelerators & ion-sources; design, assembly and maintenance of experimental facilities and of high & ultrahigh vacuum systems; technical design; thin films; system-dedicated control units.


  • Advanced Technologies

    Conception, design & assembly of advanced experimental systems based on leading-edge technologies.

Contacts
to page top
  • Avishay Gal-Yam (Chair):
Avishay.Gal-Yam@weizmann.ac.il
Tel: 08-9342063
Cell: 054-7688876
  • Lorne Levinson
    (Electronics & Data Acquisition team)
Lorne.Levinson@weizmann.ac.il
Tel: 08-9342084
Cell: 052-3391296
  • Enrico Segre
    (Instrument control, Algorithmics & Numerical Simulations)
Enrico.Segre@weizmann.ac.il
Tel: 08-9342047
  • Yigal Shachar
    (Accelerators & Experimental Facilities)
Yigal.Shachar@weizmann.ac.il
Tel: 089342526
Cell: 054-2638893
  • Michael Rappaport
    (Advanced Technologies)
Michael.Rappaport@weizmann.ac.il
Tel: 089342048
Cell: 054-6408434


Faculty of Physics Weizmann Institute of Science

webmaster Julia.Narevicius@weizmann.ac.il - last update June 1 2016