American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science

American Committee National Chair Ellen Merlo and Prof. Daniel Zajfman at the New York Gala Dinner, April 2013

Since 1944, the American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science has enabled Americans to play a dramatic partnership role in keeping the Weizmann Institute at the forefront of modern science. Research funds, major buildings, professorial chairs, laboratories, endowed scholarships, and many other gifts testify to vigorous American commitment to the Institute and its graduate school.

The American Committee was founded by a group of visionaries inspired by the dreams of Dr. Chaim Weizmann, the eminent chemist and Zionist leader who later became the first President of the State of Israel and of the Institute that bears his name. Outstanding business, intellectual, and opinion leaders soon joined the Committee to participate in exciting projects of support. From modest beginnings in Boston and New York, the American Committee has grown into a prominent national organization with offices coast to coast.

Learn more about the American Committee's activites and events at

For information about donations and getting involved:


Marshall S. Levin, Chief Executive Officer
Ellen Merlo, National Chair
Dr. Jay A. Levy, President

Contact Details

Headquarters: American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science
633 Third Avenue, New York, NY 10017
Fax: 212.895.7999

US Regional Offices:

 Bay Area Region
 300 Montgomery Street, Suite 615
 San Francisco, CA 94104
 Mr. David Cohen, Executive Director
 Tel: 1 415 981 4001
 Fax: 1 415 981 4007
 Midwest Region
 180 N. LaSalle Street, Suite 3110
 Chicago, IL 60601
 Mr. Lee Brown, Executive Director
 Tel: 1 312 641 5700
 Fax: 1 312 641 1018
 Florida Region
 200 South Park Road, Suite 405
 Hollywood, FL 33021
 Mr. Richard Enslein, Executive Director
 Tel: 1 954 964 8071
 Fax: 1 954 983 6565
 Michigan Region
 6735 Telegraph Rd., Suite 365
 Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
 Dr. Daphna Ruby, Executive Director
 Tel: 1 248 258 9890
 Fax: 1 248 258 9892
 New York Tri-State Region
 633 Third Avenue, 20th Floor
 New York, NY 10017
 Ms. Elaine Yaniv, Executive Director
 Tel: 1 212 895 7900
 Fax: 1 212 895 7996
 Southern California Region
 1762 Westwood Blvd., Suite 410
 Los Angeles, CA 90024
 Ms. Janis Rabin, Executive Director
 Tel: 1 424 442 1000
 Fax: 1 424 442 1007


Resource Development | P.O. Box 26, Rehovot 76100 Israel | Tel +972-8-934-2429 | Fax +972-8-934-4114 | Terms of Use | Email Webmaster | Contact Us