ISMAR 2015 lectures

For member only: view lectures (only the presentation) of the ISMAR prize and Abragam prize winners and some of the plenary lectures of ISMAR 2015. Please go to the Past ISMAR Conferences link:

Revisions to ISMAR constitution have been approved

The new ISMAR Constitution is available at this link:

Endel Lippmaa passed away

It is with sadness that I inform you of the passing of the well-known and highly regarded Estonian scientist Dr. Endel Lippmaa.  Endel was a pioneer of solid-state NMR spectroscopy, and NMR in general, during the 70’s and 80’s. Many may not have known of all of his contributions, as he lived and worked in the small country of Estonia, one of the Baltic countries. Despite repression during the USSR period, he traveled and collaborated with numerous western laboratories, including the IBM Almaden labs in California and visits to Alex Pines’ lab at UC Berkeley.

Ionel Solomon passed away

Our colleague Ionel Solomon left us on June 29, 2015, after a long and fruitful career of physicist extending from 1953, at age 24 to the very end of his life, at age 86.

After completing his studies at Ecole Polytechnique, Paris, he joined the Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique in 1953, where he came to work with Anatole Abragam, and co-founded with him the celebrated «  Laboratoire de Résonance Magnétique » at Saclay, which he left in 1962 for becoming professor at Ecole Polytechnique and founding the Laboratory of Condensed Matter Physics.

Winner of the Anatole Abragam Prize for a Young Investigator - 2015

Dr. Józef Lewandowski receives the award for:
"For his outstanding accomplishments to date and his promise in the development of solid-state NMR methodology and its application to the study of biomolecular structure and dynamics”

Winners of ISMAR Prize 2015

Hans Wolfgang Spiess receives the award for:

"For pioneering contributions to solid state NMR; in particular for techniques that elucidate motion in solids by means of two-dimensional NMR, and for applications of solid state NMR to the structure and dynamics of polymers”

Shimon Vega receives the award for:

Call for Nominations for the Anatole Abragam Prize for Young Investigators

Nomination for the Anatole Abragam prize  2015 - deadline  March 31, 2015. Submit nominations by e‐mail to the Secretary General,

Nominations should include the following documents:
• Nomination letter
• Seconding letter(s)
• Curriculum vitae
• List of publications and presentations at conferences

New ISMAR Fellows

It is our pleasure to announce that four new Fellows were elected in 2014 by the Fellows of ISMAR. The new Fellows are:

Drs. Yoji Arata (Japan), Lucia Banci (Italy), Philip Kuchel (Australia) and Kev M. Salikhov (Russia).

Open letter to Agilent

November 19, 2014

Patrick Kaltenbach, VP and General Manager, Life Science Products and Solutions
Agilent Technologies
5301 Stevens Creek Blvd.
Santa Clara, CA  95051

Cc: Bill Sullivan, CEO; Mike McCullen, CEO-Elect; Darlene Solomon, Chief Technology Officer

Mr. Kaltenbach, Mr. Sullivan, Mr. McCullen, and Ms. Solomon:

Agilent Exits NMR Business

Agilent Technologies Inc. announced it is exiting its Nuclear Magnetic Resonance business. Agilent entered the NMR business in 2010, with the acquisition of Varian. Agilent will stop taking new NMR system orders immediately, but the company will continue to meet customer commitments for orders in progress and for ongoing support contracts. Agilent will continue to provide service on all installed NMR systems.

More on this news can be found here:

Harden Marsden McConnell passed away

Harden Marsden McConnell passed away October 8, 2014, at age 87. He was a faculty member at CalTech (1956-64) and at Stanford (1964-2000) and chaired the Stanford Chemistry Department (1989-1992).

John Waugh passed away

John Waugh passed away on Friday, August 22, 2014. John made seminal contributions to magnetic resonance and was an active member of ISMAR. He received the ISMAR Prize in 1989, he was an elected Fellow of ISMAR and served as President of ISMAR from 1999 - 2001. An obituary can be found at: