Anatole Prize

ISMAR has created the Anatole Abragam Prize, sponsored by Bruker, to pay tribute to the outstanding achievements of the late Anatole Abragam.

Anatole Abragam made seminal contributions to both NMR and EPR and was a recipient of the ISMAR Prize and also was a Fellow of ISMAR. In addition to his superb scientific contributions, fostering people in science was clearly close to his heart. With this in mind, ISMAR has established an award for young investigators that bears the title Anatole Abragam Prize sponsored by Bruker Biospin.

Candidates are eligible within seven years of completing their PhD. They can be nominated by any regular member or Fellow of ISMAR. After evaluation by the ISMAR Prize Committee, the winner is selected on the basis of evidence of novel and significant contributions to magnetic resonance. Preference will be given to nominees who have made original and independent contributions to experimental or conceptual aspects of magnetic resonance beyond accomplishments attributable to work performed with their research supervisors. The award aims to recognize and foster outstanding young scientists at a typically important point in their career.

The Anatole Abragam Prize is presented during the opening session of ISMAR meetings, as is the case with the ISMAR Prize.

2017 - Loren Andreas

The winner of the 2017 Anatole Abragam prize is Dr. Loren Andreas from Max Plank Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany. He was awarded the prize for pioneering contributions to the structure determination of large proteins in the solid state using 1H-detected MAS techniques.

2017 - Björn Burmann

The winner of the 2017 Anatole Abragam prize is Dr. Björn Burmann from Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Gothenburg, Sweden. He was awarded the prize for pioneering contributions to the determination of structure and dynamics of chaperone-client complexes at atomic resolution by solution NMR.

2015 - Dr. Józef Lewandowski

The winner of the 2015 Anatole Abragam prize is Dr. Józef Lewandowski. He was awarded the prize for his outstanding accomplishments to date and his promise in the development of solid-state NMR methodology and its application to the study of biomolecular structure and dynamics.

2013 - Dr. Vikram S. Bajaj

The winner of the 2013 Anatole Abragam prize is Dr. Vikram S. Bajaj. He was awarded the prize for his contributions to the development of novel methodology in magnetic resonance, including remote detection of microfluidic flow, optical detection with atomic magnetometers, MRI of optically encoded templates, studies of NV centers in diamond, and new implementations of the xenon biosensor.