Category name: Israel National Postdoctoral Award Program for Advancing Women in Science

For Candidates

Each year, outstanding female PhD graduates in the exact and natural sciences from all Israeli institutions of higher learning are encouraged to apply to the Israel National Postdoctoral Program for Advancing Women in Science. The applicants must have already been accepted to a postdoctoral research program abroad and received approval of their PhD thesis within the past year and a half. Approximately 10 recipients per year are selected by a committee headed by the Institute’s Head, Office for the Advancement of Women in Science and Gender Equality and comprised of representatives from a cross-section of Israel’s universities.

The award is distributed over a three year period according to the following categories:

  1. $17,000 a year ($51,000 for three years)
  2. $22,000 a year for an awardee with one child ($66,000 for three years)
  3. $25,000 a year for an awardee with two or more children ($75,000 for three years)

The purpose of the award is to supplement the fellowship that the scientist receives from their respective postdoctoral research program abroad or other fellowships. Transfer of the funds in the second and third years is contingent on the continuation of the postdoctoral research and submission of progress reports.

The Israel National Postdoctoral Award Program for Advancing Women in Science is open to outstanding candidates who finished a PhD in the exact and natural sciences in one of Israel’s institutions of higher learning.

The information below refers to applications for 2021

Candidates' eligibility is based on:

  • PhD thesis approval as of January 1, 2020 **
  • Acceptance as a postdoctoral researcher in a leading research group overseas
  • Existence of additional outside funding from a granting agency or from the research group from which the applicant has already received acceptance.
  • Applications must be received by May 1, 2021.

**In special cases of exceptional excellence, applicants pursuing a second postdoc (after a very successful first postdoc in Israel) will also be considered for candidacy.

Candidates who have received a similar award that is a supplement to the basic fellowship from an Israeli source are not eligible for this award.

Your total income, including the award, cannot exceed $100,000 a year.



Deadline for submitting applications for 2021 is May 1, 2021.

All applicants must fill out the electronic application form and upload the requested additional documents with the application form to be considered for the Israel National Postdoctoral Award Program for Advancing Women in Science:

In addition to filling out and sending the electronic application form, candidates must also attach the following information (1-8) as one PDF document max weight: 2MG. The PDF document should be named according to the following format: (candidate’s last name_first name_women award 2021). 

Application forms received without the requested additional documents will not be accepted.

  1. Curriculum vitae
  2. Publication list, according to the following categories:
    • In press or published articles in scientific and professional magazines
    • Review articles and book chapters
    • Conference abstracts
  3. Prizes and scholarships received during the course of the applicant’s PhD studies, as well as during their graduate and undergraduate studies
  4. An abstract of 300 words or less of the applicant’s doctoral thesis, in English
  5. A 300-word (maximum length) description (background and goals) of the applicant's future research, in English
  6. A letter of acceptance from the principal investigator in whose lab the candidate will conduct her postdoctoral research (please advise the PI that the award will augment the fellowship received from the lab)
  7. Passport picture
  8. List of funding sources for the first two years of the postdoc (Salary from the host lab, prizes, fellowships, etc.)
  9. Two letters of recommendation in English. One of the letters must be from the applicant’s PhD advisor. The letters should be sent directly in a separate email to:

The awards are given for a period of three years. Transfer of the funds in the second and third years is contingent on the continuation of the postdoctoral research and submission of progress reports.