Faculty of Physics


Dean: Yosef Nir
The Amos de Shalit Professorial Chair of Theoretical Physics

The Faculty of Physics consists of three departments: Department of Physics of Complex Systems, Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Department of Particle Physics and Astrophysics. In addition, a unit of Physical Services support the experimental groups. The research in the faculty is conducted by 43 faculty members, about 130 graduate students and about 40 post doctoral fellows and visitors.

The research in the faculty covers a wide range of experimental and theoretical areas. The experimental effort includes studies of solid state and semiconductor physics, superconductivity, plasma, radiation detection physics, nuclear physics, atomic and molecular physics, hydrodynamics and optics. In addition, the faculty is involved in large scale high energy experiments done at accelerators in Brookhaven, Geneva and Hamburg. The experimental activity is carried out by some 20 groups operating within the faculty, most of which established and developed during the last decade. The faculty is now extending its activities in atomic and laser physics, and entering into new areas such as observational astrophysics.

Theoretical studies at the faculty cover areas like high energy physics, string theory, mesoscopic systems, interacting electron systems, equilibrium and non-equilibrium statistical physics and astrophysics.

In addition, a new interdisciplinary direction of research, biologically oriented physics, has been developed within the faculty. Several research groups are engaged in theoretical and experimental studies in cooperation with groups from other faculties.

The faculty hosts The Albert Einstein Minerva Center for Theoretical Physics, The Crown Photonics Center, The Joseph H. and Belle R. Braun Center for Submicron Research, The Minerva Center for Nonlinear Physics of Complex Systems, The Nella and Leon Benoziyo Center for High Energy Physics, and the Center for Experimental Physics.