Feinberg Graduate School

Dean: Lia Addadi
The Dorothy and Patrick Gorman Professorial Chair

The Feinberg Graduate School
The Feinberg Graduate School [FGS], the educational body of The Weizmann Institute of Science, was founded in 1958.

The School's goal is the advanced education and training of new generations of creative and original researchers in the natural sciences and mathematics, or, in other words, the building of a cadre of future scientific leaders. Therefore, all FGS students complete a formal curriculum and are directly involved in the research conducted at the Institute.

The School is chartered as a higher education institution in the State of New York, U.S.A., and accredited by the Council for Higher Education in Israel.

Language of Instruction
The official language of instruction at FGS is English. This enables foreign students to also benefit from its programs.

Thesis Advisors and Lecturers
The instructors and mentors of FGS students are Weizmann Institute of Science faculty members as are most of the lecturers teaching the courses offered by FGS.

Major Fields of Study and Research
Study programs are offered in five major fields of study: Physical Sciences; Chemical Sciences; Life Sciences; Mathematics and Computer Science; and Science Teaching.

Study Programs
FGS offers graduate programs leading to the following degrees: Master of Science (MSc) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD).

All FGS students receive fellowships so they can devote their time to research and study. The fellowships are supported by competitive research grants, competitive fellowship awards, the Ministry of Science and Technology in Israel, the Planning and Budgeting Committee of the Council for Higher Education in Israel, several private foundations and by more than 300 private endowment funds established by supporters of the Weizmann Institute of Science.

Tuition Fees
All FGS students are exempted from paying tuition fees.

FGS oversees more than 1,000 students. At any given time there are over 700 PhD students; close to 270 students are enrolled in the regular MSc track (i.e. with thesis), and just over 90 students in the Rothschild-Weizmann program in science teaching (without thesis) for teachers. About 44% of the students are women.

Applications to the Ph.D. tracks are accepted throughout the year, while applications to the M.Sc. degree must be received before the end of May for the following academic year, typically beginning in late October.

The only criterion for acceptance to the FGS programs is academic excellence and integrity. A total of 333 new students were accepted during the academic year 2009/2010 (i.e. from October 1, 2009 to September 30, 2010). Of these students 179 were accepted to the M.Sc. programs and 155 to the Ph.D. program. 45.5% of the new students were women.

In 2010, a total of 270 degrees were conferred upon FGS graduates. Of these, 135 were Ph.D. degrees and 135 were M.Sc. degrees. 43% of the graduates were women.

Visiting Students
Each year, FGS hosts more than150 visiting students from other universities in Israel and abroad.

Prof. Lia Addadi

Steering Committee
The Dean is assisted by a Steering Committee consisting of the directors of the Research Schools (see below), and the Chair of the Board of Studies in Science Teaching:

Prof. Shimon Levit (Physical Sciences)
Prof. Gilad Haran (Chemical Sciences) until December 31, 2010
Prof. Nir Gov (Chemical Sciences) as of January 1, 2011
Prof. Ari Elson (Life Sciences)
Prof. Ran Raz (Mathematics and computer Science) until September 30, 2010
Prof. Vered Rom-Kedar(Mathematics and computer Science) as of October 1, 2010
Prof. Nir Orion (Science Teaching)

Director and Academic Secretary
Dr. Ami Shalit

Research Schools
Studies at FGS are conducted within the framework of research schools. Each school is headed by a director appointed by the FGS Dean. Each director is assisted by a Board of Studies. The director of each school coordinates all activities in the relevant field of study. These include: guidelines for academic requirements, courses, laboratory work, admission of students, and evaluation of their progress in both research and studies.

Research School of Physical Science
Director: Prof. Shimon Levit

Solo Dwek and Maurizio Dwek Research School of Chemical Science
Director: Prof. Gilad Haran

Lorry I. Lokey Research School of Biochemical Science
Director: Prof. Ari Elson

Ekard Research School of Biological Science
Director: Prof. Ari Elson

Moross Research School of Mathematics and Computer Science
Director: Prof. Vered Rom-Kedar

Financial Support
For many years, the Feinberg Graduate School has been the recipient of financial support from the United States Government through the Agency for International Development (USAID), within the framework of the American Schools and Hospitals Abroad (ASHA) program. The 2009/2010 USAID grant was $1,000,000. AID funds are used to purchase a significant portion of the scientific equipment and literature needed by students for their advanced research projects.

The Postdoctoral Fellowship Program
In addition to the degree programs, the School administrates the Postdoctoral Fellowship Program at the Institute. The Head of the Program is Prof. Elior Peles. Currently, there are over 300 fellows in this program. Applications to this program are accepted throughout the year.

The Graduate School Office
The FGS office coordinates the operations of the School.