The Joseph H. and Belle R. Braun Center for Submicron Research


Mordehai Heiblum, Director
The Alex and Ida Sussman Professorial Chair of Submicron Electronics

Research activities at the Center are concentrated on fabrication and investigation of small semiconductor structures. The energy spectrum, interactions, and dynamics of electrons in these structures are strongly affected by the reduced dimensions. The structures are grown by state-of-the-art molecular beam epitaxy (MBE), patterned using very high resolution electron beam writing system and processed using advanced techniques.

Research at the Center is conducted by staff, providing services mostly to the experimentalists in the department of condesed matter physics (CMP), as well as other departments in the institute and outside it.

The details of the research conducted by the experimentalists in the CMP department is provided under the heading of the department. Research in the center is also conducted by Hadas Shtrikman who studies nano-wires growth and characterization; Vladimir Umansky who studies high purity growth of GaAs/AlGaAs and high frequency low noise transistors; and Diana Mahalu who studies electron beam miniaturization of electronic structures.

The center is run by three research associates, three engineers, and two technicians, and is serviced by the secretariat of the CMP department. Its director is Moty Heiblum.