Invited participants

Ad Aertsen (Freiburg University)
Ehud Ahissar (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Amir Amedi (Hebrew University)
Amos Arieli (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Shabtai Barash (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Moustafa Bensafi (National Center of Scientific Research, Lyon)
Michael Brecht (Humboldt University)
Opher Donchin (Ben-Gurion University)
Volker Dürr (University of Köln)
Ralf Engbert (University of Potsdam)
Tamar Flash (Weizmann Institute of Science)
David Golomb (Ben-Gurion University)
Alex Groh (Institute of Neurosciences and Biophysics, München)
Igor Kagan (California Institute of Technology)
Tali Kimchi (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Sigrun Korsching (University of Köln)
Ilan Lampl (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Markus Lappe (Westfälische Wilhelms-University)
Charles Lenay (University of Technology of Compiègne)
Nikos Logothetis (Max-Planck-Institute, Tübingen)
Poramate Manoonpong (Georg-August-University of Goettingen)
Susana Martinez Conde (Barrow Neurological Institute, Arizona)
Martin Pearson (Bristol Robotics Laboratory)
Tony Prescott (University of Sheffield)
Michele Rucci (Boston University)
Avi Saig (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Bert Sakmann (Max-Planck-Institute, Martinsried)
Cornelius Schwarz (University of Tübingen)
Jackie Schiller (Technion, Israel Institute of Technology)
Noam Sobel (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Peter Thier (University of Tübingen)
Barbara Webb (University of Edinburgh)

Program structure
Each session will begin with a 20-minute introductory lecture, given by the session chair. The chairperson will cover the current knowledge and main principles governing the field, including the history relevant for its development and commonly used methodology.
Every talk (30 minutes + 5 minutes for questions), will cover crucial components of active sensation, overviews of current knowledge, state of the art experimental techniques, and interpretations of active sensation in terms of brain functions, computational theory and engineering.
Closing each session will be a discussion, guided by the chairpersons who will summarize the talks, give their own personal input, and add provocative comments or questions to the speakers to evoke an opened dialogue and interactions among speakers and the audience. Discussion leaders are encouraged to also invite 1-2 speakers (who didn’t give a talk during the session) to present short topics relevant to the discussion.
Ample time will be allocated during breaks, plenary activities and free time for critical discussions between all participants. We encourage you to take part in those activities.
The meeting will end with a general discussion session. This closing session will begin with a presentation by the Discussion leader, who will summarize important points raised during the meeting, suggest directions for future research, and direct an open discussion.

for Detailed program Click here