Group Members

Prof. Irun R. Cohen

Prof. Irun R. Cohen

Principal Investigator
Wolfson Building for Biological Research

Research Alumni

Principal Investigators who have been students, fellows or long-term visitors in the laboratory of Irun Cohen


  • Hartmut Wekerle

    Professor and Emeritus Director at the MPI of Neurobiology in Munich. Chairman (Dean) of the Biological-Medical Section of the Max Planck Society (1999-2003). Germany.


  • Lawrence Steinman

    Professor in the Departments of Neurology and Neurological Sciences, Pediatrics, and Genetics, and Chair of the Stanford University Program in Immunology. Stanford.


  • Willem van Eden

    Professor, Department of Infectious Diseases and  Immunology, Utrecht University, The Netherlands.


  • Arthur A. Vandenbark

    Career Research Scientist and Professor of Neurology and Immunology at Oregon Health and Science University. Portland.


  • Arie Belldegrun

    Professor of Urology, Chief of the Division of Urologic Oncology, and

    Chair in Urologic Oncology. UCLA.


  • Daniel M. Altmann

    Professor of Immunology, Department of Immunology,

    Faculty of Medicine, Imperial College, London.


  • Daniel Douek

    Section Chief, Human Immunology Section, Vaccine Research Center,

    National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH.


  • Yaakov Naparstek

    Chairman of Medicine at Hadassah University Hospital and Professor of Medicine at the Hebrew University-Hadassah School of Medicine, Jerusalem.


  • Ansgar W. Lohse

    Professor of Medicine, University Medical Centre Hamburg, Germany.


  • Amnon Altman

    Head/Member, La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology. La Jolla.


  • Rene R. de Vries

    Professor, Department of Immunohematology, Leiden University Medical Center, Leiden.


  • Takashi Yamamura

    Director, National Institute of Neuroscience, NCNP and

    Director, Multiple Sclerosis Center, NCNP. Tokyo


  • Maria Giovanna Danieli

    Professor of Immunology, Universita Politecnica delle Marche, Ancona, It


  • Avraham Ben-Nun

    Professor of Immunology, Weizmann Institute of Science.


  • Joseph Holoshitz

    Professor of Internal Medicine, Rheumatology, University of Michigan. Anne Arbor, MI.


  • Ofer Lider (deceased)

    Associate Professor, Department of Immunology, Weizmann Institute of Science.


  • Anat Achiron

    Professor, Tel Aviv University Medical School and Director, Multiple Sclerosis Center, Sheba Medical Center. Tel Hashomer, Israel.


  • Evelyne Béraud

    Laboratoire d’Immunologie, Faculté de Médecine, Aix-Marseille Université, Marseillle. France


  • Bartelt de Jongh

    Medical Microbiologist, Laboratory for Microbiology and Infection Control, Amphia Hospital, Breda,

    The Netherlands


  • Aaron Friedman

    Professor of Immunology, Faculty of Agriculture, Hebrew University; Vice-president, Hebrew University.


  • Felix Mor

    Associate Professor of Medicine, Tel Aviv University Medical School, Tel Aviv.


  • Zvi Lapidot

    Professor of Immunology, Department of Immunology, Weizmann Institute of Science.


  • Nathan Karin

    Professor of Immunology, Technion Medical School, Haifa.


  • Oz M. Shapira

    Professor, Director, Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Hadassah Medical Center, Jerusalem


  • Boris Reizis

    Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Columbia University, NY.


  • Ohad Birk

    Professor, Director, Genetics Institute, Medical School, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Beer Sheva.


  • Yoram Louzoun

    Professor, Department of Mathematics, Bar Ilan University. Ramat Gan. Israel.


  • Yehuda Chowers

    Professor, head the Gastroenterology Institute at Rambam Hospital and an associate professor in the Technion Faculty of Medicine. Haifa, Israel



  • Gabriel Nussbaum

    Senior Lecturer, Dental School, Hadassah-Hebrew University Medical School, Jerusalem.


  • Enrique Montero

    Center of Molecular Immunology, Havana, Cuba.


  • Johannes Herkel

    Department of Medicine, University of Hamburg, Germany.


  • Neta Erez

    Senior Lecturer, Department of Pathology, Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel Aviv University


  • Yifat Merbl

    Senior Scientist, Department of Immunology Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel


  • Varda Levram-Ellisman

    Project Scientist, Pharmacology,

    University of California, San Diego CA


  • Micha Rapoport

    Professor of Medicine, Asaf Harofe Hospital, Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv


  • Raanan Margalit

    Founder and CEO, Science in Action,

    Science Park, Ness Ziona, Israel


  • Nahum Shpigel

    Associate Professor - School of Veterinary Medicine

    The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Rehovot, Israel


  • Doron Markovits

    Attending, Unit of Rheumathology, Rambam Medical Center, Haifa, Israel


  • Ofer Markman

    Chief Scientific Officer and co-founder, NutriCognia Ltd, Israel


  • Ariel Miller

    Professor of Neurology, Faculty of Medicine, Technion, Haifa, Israel


  • Yaron Tikochinsky

    Manager, Genetico Ltd.,

    Incentive Technological R&D Center

    Ariel, Israel


  • Jana Shaw (Bockova)

    Associate Professor of Pediatrics

    Pediatric Infectious Diseases

    SUNY Upstate Medical University

    Syracuse, NY


  • Arie Ingber

    Professor, Dermatology, Hadassah Medical Center, Jerusalem


  • Sol Efroni

    Associate Professor, Computational Biology, Bar Ilan University, Israel

  • Alexandra Zanin-Zhorov

    Vice President, Head of Immunology, Kadmon Pharmaceuticals, New York NY


  • Noam Cohen

    Scientist, Israel Institute for Biological Research, Ness Ziona, Israel


  • Avishai Mimran

    Scientist, Israel Institute for Biological Research, Ness Ziona, Israel


  • Uri Hershberg

    Associate Professor, Computational Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health Systems

    Drexel University, Philadelphia PA


  • Rivka Abulafia-Lapid

    Director, Research Laboratory, Dept. of Medical Biophysics and Nuclear Medicine, Hadassah Medical Center, Jerusalem


  • Ilan Volovitz

    Director, Immunotherapy Research Laboratory

    Tel Aviv Sourasky Medial Center, Tel Aviv