## The Annual Meeting 2006 The Israel Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

## on

## Crossing the Cell Membrane Molecules, Signals and Processes that Cross the Plasma Membrane

Wix Auditorium of The Weizmann Institute, Rehovot, Thursday, April 20, 2006

## **Program**

08:00-09:00	Registration
09:00-10:30	Session A: Signal transduction across the membrane
	Chair: Ari Elson
09:00-09:30	Yosef Yarden, Weizmann Institute Oncogenic receptor tyrosine kinases EGFR and HER2: Signalling mechanisms and targets for therapy
09:30-10:00	Alexander Levitzki, Hebrew University Membrane proteins as targets for drug therapy
10:00-10:30	Yael Stern-Bach, Hebrew University Regulation of glutamate receptor ion-channel gating
10:30-11:00	Coffee break
11:00-13:00	Session B: Primary and secondary transporters
-	Chair: Nathan Nelson
11:00-11:30	<b>Eitan Bibi</b> , Weizmann Institute FLEXIBILITY IN STRUCTURE AND FUNCTION OF THE ESCHERICHIA COLI MULTIDRUG TRANSPORTER MDFA
11:30-12:00	Oded Beja, Technion Environmental genomics: New ways to harvest light from seawater
12:00-12:30	<b>Etana Padan</b> , Hebrew University Structure of the NhaA Na <sup>+</sup> /H <sup>+</sup> antiporter: Insights into mechanism of action and regulation by pH.
12:30 13:00	Short talks by students
13:00-13:10	ISBMB business meeting
13:10-13:45 13:45-14:30	Lunch Break Posters & Professional Exhibition
14:30-15:30	Session C: Keynote lecture
	Chair: Etana Padan
14.30- 15.30	Hartmut Michel, Max Planck Institute for Biophysics, Frankfurt, Germany (Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 1988) CRYSTALLIZATION AND STRUCTURE OF MEMBRANE PROTEINS: ROUTES AND ACHIEVEMENTS

15:30-17:00	Session D: Channels
	Chair: Bernard Attali
15:30-16:00	Varda Shoshan-Barmatz, Ben Gurion University The mitochondrial protein – The voltage-dependent anion channel controls life and death of the cell.
16:00-16:30	<b>Joel Hirsch</b> , Tel Aviv University Structural and functional aspects of voltage-dependent ion channel signalling.
16:30-17:00	Short talks by students
17.00-17.20	Coffee Break
17:20-18:00	Session E: Teva Prize Award
	Chair: Michael Sela
17:20-17:50 17:50-18:00	Teva Prize lecture Closing remarks and announcement of the best poster prize winner

**Remark:** The program is subject to change.