About ICS Awards

At the 10th Joint Annual meeting of the International Cytokine Society (ICS) and the International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research (ISICR) held in Geneva, Switzerland from September 11-14, 2012, awards will be given in recognition of the best abstracts submitted by graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and young investigators.

  • Ed Leonard Prize Fund for Chemotaxis/Chemokine Research.  This Award was established by Dr. Antal Rot in honor of Dr. Ed Leonard, to further excellence in chemotaxis/chemokine research. This competition is open to any postdoctoral fellow. Candidates cannot be junior faculty at the time of abstract submission. A statement from the candidate's scientific mentor testifying to the accuracy of these criteria must be provided.
  • ICS Young Investigator Award.  This competition is open to investigators who are less than 10 years removed from gaining the PhD or MD degree (not counting leaves of absence). Applicants must have completed their postdoctoral training and currently hold a junior faculty position or equivalent. First, second and third prizes will be given.
  • Postdoctoral Investigator Award.  Applicants must have completed their doctoral training and currently be engaged in full-time postdoctoral research. Persons who have completed a medical degree and are currently enrolled in a doctoral degree program are not eligible. First, second, third and fourth prizes will be given.
  • Outstanding Scholar Award.  This competition is open to any full-time graduate or medical student. Candidates must provide a letter from their Department Chairman certifying their student status. First, second, third and fourth prizes will be given.
  • The Journal of Biological Chemistry/ Herbert Tabor Young Investigator Award.  Competition for the Herbert Tabor Young Investigator Award is open to members of both the ICS and the ISICR, based on the excellence of his/her abstract for a poster or oral presentation. All students, postdoctoral researchers and junior faculty members who have not yet received tenure are eligible.  The application should be accompanied by a signed pdf letter of recommendation from your advisor.  One award will be given.

Applicants for the awards should write to Dr. Marion Kasaian or Dr. Jennifer Towne at ICSawards@gmail.com and attach a copy of the abstract submitted to this conference, their CV and a letter certifying status if required for the award. The subject line of the email should indicate the award to which the applicant is applying.  The deadline for applications has been extended to June 1, 2012, midnight, CET, and notifications to awardees will be made late June 2012.  The awards are a great way to recognize particularly good abstracts and help make the conference a bit more affordable.  We encourage all to apply.