Home / Sections / Briefs / Two Weizmann Scientists Awarded Emet Prize

Two Weizmann scientists awarded EMET Prize

Prof. Ben-Zion Shilo & Prof. Moty Heiblum


Date: April 27, 2014
Weizmann Direct Vol. 1 Issue 1
Prof. Moty Heiblum

Prof. Moty Heiblum

On November 24, the Weizmann Institute was honored by the awarding of this year's prestigious EMET Prize to two faculty members: Prof. Moty Heiblum in the exact sciences category, and Prof. Ben-Zion Shilo in the life sciences category.

Prof. Heiblum is one of the world pioneers of nanophysics. The insights he has brought to basic science are impressive, as is the potential for applications, for example, in entirely new types of computers based on quantum mechanics. Prof. Shilo has made seminal contributions to the understanding of embryonic development. Using a wide spectrum of genetic, molecular, and computational approaches, Prof. Shilo has elucidated mechanisms underlying interactions between cells that give rise to the formation of elaborate patterns and organs during development.


Prof. Moty Heiblum is supported by the Joseph H. and Belle R. Braun Center for Submicron Research which he heads, the Gruber Center for Quantum Electronics which he heads, The Willner Family Leadership Institute for the Weizmann Institute of Science, the Dan and Herman Mayer fund for Submicron Research, the Wolfson Family Charitable Trust, the European Research Council, and the estate of Olga Klein Astrachan. He is the incumbent of the Alex and Ida Sussman Professorial Chair of Submicron Electronics.



Prof. Ben- Zion Shilo is supported by the M.D. Moross Institute for Cancer Research, the Carolito Stiftung, the Schoenheimer Foundation, the M.D. Moross Institute for Cancer Research, and the Mary Ralph Designated Philanthropic Fund. He is the incumbent of the Hilda and Cecil Lewis Professorial Chair of Molecular Genetics.



Prof. Ben-Zion Shilo

Prof. Ben-Zion Shilo