The Aharon Katzir-Katchalsky Center

The Aharon Katzir-Katchalsky Center of the Weizmann Institute of Science was established in 1972, following the tragic death of Aharon Katzir-Katchalsky at the hands of terrorists. The Center, set up as a living memorial to him, is administered through a Board of Trustees supported by an International Advisory Committee.


The Center promotes activities in physical biology and macromolecular science and in such other areas of science that fall within the wide-ranging interests of Aharon Katzir-Katchalsky. The Center furthers international scientific cooperation through the organization of scientific meetings and the exchange of scientists. Of particular concern to the Center is the impact of scientific and technological advances on human society.

The Aharon Katzir-Katchalsky Center Board of Governors

Prof. Daniel Zajfman, President- Ex-Officio
Prof. Lia Addadi, Dean, Feinberg Graduate School- Ex-Officio
Prof. Michal Neeman, Dean, Faculty of Biology- Ex-Officio
Prof. Zvi Livneh, Dean, Faculty of Biochemistry- Ex-Officio

Elected members:
Prof. Sima Lev
Prof. Zvulun Elazar

Center Head and administrative coordinator

Prof. Talila Volk
Ms. Dalia Greenberg

Advisory Committee

The local advisory committee is appointed by the head of the center.

The Center Activites