• Received his BSc and MSc degrees in biology from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He completed his studies towards a PhD in biochemistry at the Weizmann Institute of Science and then moved to take a Group Leader position at Sugen Inc. in California. In 1997, he returned to the Department of Molecular Cell Biology ate the Weizmann Institute of Science.  He headed this department from 2010-2014, and served as the Dean of the Faculty of Biology from 2014-2021. He is the incumbent of the Hanna Hertz Professorial Chair for Multiple Sclerosis and Neuroscience. His lab study the molecular mechanisms underlying axon-glia interactions and myelination by Schwann cells and oligodendrocytes. Ori is an enthusiastic triathlete, so outside of the lab you can often find him swimming, cycling, and running.

  • Associate Staff Scientist, obtained her Bachelor’s degree in basic medical sciences from The Hebrew university in Jerusalem and her MSc and PhD in Life Sciences from the WIS. Yael is interested in the way neurons and glia communicate to co-produce the myelin sheath. When she doesn’t have her lab coat on, you will most likely find her doing absolutely nothing, preferably with family and friends.

  • Obtained her bachelor’s in biotechnology from Hadassah College in Jerusalem, her MSc in Biomedical Sciences from The Hebrew University and her PhD in Molecular Cell Biology from Weizmann Institute of Science. Natasha is interested in further studying the regulation of myelination during sustained communication of SCs and their associated axons. The aim is to compare different effects of myelinating and non-myelinating glial cells on neuronal gene expression to further elucidate neuronal pathways promoting the formation of the myelin sheath. 

  • Obtained her BSc in Molecular Biochemistry from Technion and her MSc in Science from Weizmann institute of science. Amit is interested in the formation and maintenance of nodes of Ranvier in the CNS. She studies the roles of NrCAM and ADAMTS-4 in this context. In addition, she aims to identify novel proteins participating in axoglial interaction mechanisms of both the node and paranodal junction. When she’s not at her bench, you will most likely find her running, working out, hiking, cooking or baking.

  • Obtained her BSc in Bio-Medical sciences from Tel-Aviv University and her MSc in Bio-Medical sciences from The Hebrew University, Hadassah Medical School. Renana is interested in understanding the role of Gpr37 in the formation and maintenance of myelin. In her free time you will most likely find her reading, traveling or shopping.

  • Obtained BSc in Psychobiolgy from Ben-Gurion university and his MSc in Molecular Cell Biology at Weizmann. In the lab, Eran is studying how post-translational modifications on axoglial proteins affect myelination. Eran is also a DJ.

  • B.Sc - Psychobiology, Ben Gurion University
    Currently doing her MSc at the Weizmann Institute of Science. She is interested in understanding the role of EPHA5 in Schwann cell development.
    You will most likely find her cooking or baking in her free time.

  • Aviya Sharabi
  • Obtained her BSc in Agriculture from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Anya is a research assistant in the lab, interested in different electron microscopy techniques, image analysis and 3D modeling. When she’s not working, Anya enjoys functional training, swimming, yoga classes, hiking and spending time with her kids.


Leah Amit

(Graduate: M.Sc. | Years: 2021-2023)

Bharath Vijayaragavan

(Graduate: Ph.D | Years: 2016-2022)

Marie L Bang

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 2012-2017)

Hyunjeong Yang

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2011-2017)

Veronique Amor

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 2010-2015)

Neev Golan

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 2008-2013)

Nurit Novak

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 2008-2013)

Xiaoyun Wu

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2010-2013)

Galia Maik-Rachline

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2009-2013)

Vered Bar

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 2005-2010)

Shahar Frechter

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2008-2010)

Elena Kartvelishvily

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2008-2010)

Tali Cohen

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2008-2010)

Ido Horresh

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 2003-2009)

Konstantin Feinberg

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 2003-2009)

Yael Tschernichovsky

(Graduate: M.Sc. | Years: 2007-2009)

Nimrod Elazar

(Graduate: M.Sc. | Years: 2007-2009)

Ivo Spiegel

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 2001-2007)

Liora Shamgar

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2006-2007)

Damian Brockschnieder

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2004-2006)

Manny Eisenbach

(Graduate: M.Sc. | Years: 2004-2006)

Liat Haklai-Topper

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 1999-2004)

Yakov Zurinsksy

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2002-2004)

Maya Shelly

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2002-2004)

Offra Sarig-Nadir

(Graduate: M.Sc. | Years: 2002-2004)

Sebastian Poliak

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 1997-2003)

Katja Arnold

(Graduate: M.Sc. | Years: 1998-2002)

Leora Gollan

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 1997-2002)

Konstantin Adamsky

(Graduate: Ph.D. | Years: 1998-2002)

Michal Vechoropoulos

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 1999-2001)

Sweta Boldin-Adamsky

(Graduate: PostDoc | Years: 2000-2001)

Sean Matlis

(Graduate: M.Sc. | Years: 1999-2001)