Research

Close

Crystalline materials in nature

  • Biomineralization-formation of crystals and other aggregated phases in organisms
  • Crystallization in and from cell membranes
  • Cell interactions at interfaces
  • Antibody-Crystal interactions
Close

High-throughput protein-DNA biophysics

  • The impact of DNA structure and sequence on transcription factors binding
  • The biophysical mechanism of mutagenesis
  • The effect of mechanical perturbations in the genome on DNA biochemistry
Close

Protein interactions by NMR

  • The interaction of HIV-1 envelope glycoprotein with the HIV-1 co-receptor CCR5
  • The interaction of chemokines with CCR5
  • The use of transferred NOE to study intermolecular interactions in large protein complexes
  • Vladimir Kost

    PI: Prof. Jacob Anglister

    Phone: +972-8-934-3531

    vladimir.kost@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 550

  • Dr. Adi Moseri

    PI: Prof. Jacob Anglister

    adi.moseri@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 506

Close

Structural virology & immunology - elucidating the molecular mechanisms of host / pathogen interactions

  • Structural basis for virus cell entry
  • Structural aspects of host immune response against pathogens
  • Novel therapeutic approaches inspired by structural information
  • Sarah Borni

    PI: Prof. Ron Diskin

    sarah.borni@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 505

  • Ron Shaked

    PI: Prof. Ron Diskin

    Phone: +972-8-934-5160

    ron.shaked@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 505

  • Maayan Eilon Ashkenazy

    PI: Prof. Ron Diskin

    Phone: +972-8-934-5160

    maayan.eilon@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 505

  • Michael Katz

    PI: Prof. Ron Diskin

    michael.katz@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Hadas Cohen-Dvashi

    PI: Prof. Ron Diskin

    Phone: +972-8-934-5160

    hadas.cohen@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 505

Close

Integrated structural enzymology

  • Structures, mechanisms, and regulation of enzymes that catalyze disulfide bond formation
  • Novel structural techniques for studying extracellular matrix assembly
  • Development of potential cancer therapeutics targeting the cell microenvironment
  • Physiological functions of disulfide catalysts in the formation of complex biomaterials
  • Liza Juliet Greenberg

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Rotem Azulay

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    Phone: +972-8-934-3745

    rotem.azulay@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 668

  • Hadar Shalev

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    hadar.shalev@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Asaf Koren

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    Phone: +972-8-934-3745

    asaf.koren@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 668

  • Meital Haberman

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    meital.haberman@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Moshe Peretz

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    moshe.peretz@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 404

  • Dina Daghash

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    dina.daghash@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Ilia Korobko

    PI: Prof. Amnon Horovitz, Prof. Deborah Fass

    ilia.korobko@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 509

  • Lev Khmelnitsky

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    lev.khmelnitsky@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Noa Yeshaya

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    noa.yeshaya@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Naama Kessler

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    Phone: +972-8-934-3209

    naama.kessler@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 404

  • Dr. Tal Ilani

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass

    Phone: +972-8-934-3745

    tal.ilani@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 668

Close

Molecular systems biophysics

  • Single-molecule spectroscopy
  • Protein interactions and dynamics
  • Bio-molecular networks
Close

Cooperativity in protein structure, folding and function

  • Allostery in chaperonins
  • Mechanisms of action of chaperonins
  • Development of methods to study allostery
  • Correlated mutation analysis
Close

Computational molecular biophysics - quantifying the self-assembly mechanisms of biomolecules

  • Understanding the mechanism of DNA search by proteins
  • Deciphering the effect of post-translational modifications on protein biophysics
  • Investigation of folding of multi-domain proteins
Close
Close

Close

Biology - study of large protein complexes through nuclear magnetic resonance

  • Molecular chaperones combating neurodegenerative diseases
  • Protein folding and disaggregation
  • Structure, dynamics, and function of supramolecular complexes
  • Advanced Nuclear Magnetic Resonance techniques
Close

Structural biology – structure-function studies of transcription factors and of enzymes from pathogenic bacteria

  • The tumor-suppressor protein p53 and its interaction with DNA
  • Cancer-related p53 mutants and their rescue by suppressor mutations and by small molecules
  • Fatty-acid synthesis enzymes from Mycobacterium tuberculosis as potential drug targets
Close

Structural Biology - Study of macromolecules through cryo-EM

> Structure and function of membrane proteins and their signaling pathways

> Specialized translation

> Single particle cryo-EM

  • Daniel Zhornist

    PI: Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami

    daniel.zhornist@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Or Shimoni

    PI: Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami

    or.shimoni@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Ori Berman

    PI: Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami

    ori.berman@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Noa Anna Nairner

    PI: Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami, Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami

    noa.nairner@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Noa Anna Nairner

    PI: Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami, Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami

    noa.nairner@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Donna Matzov

    PI: Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami

    Phone: +972-8-934-6470

    matzov.donna@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 664

Close

Structure/Function studies of Biomacromolecules

  • Proteins from the nervous system, including Acetylcholinesterase
  • Bioinformatic tools, including Proteopedia, FoldIndex and Dipole Moment Server
  • Proteins involved in decontamination of deadly poisons
  • Dr. Jacob Grunwald

    PI: Prof. Joel Sussman

    jacob.grunwald@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Nella and Leon Benoziyo Building for Brain Research, 124

  • Dr. Michal Harel

    PI: Prof. Joel Sussman

    Phone: +972-8-934-2647

    michal.harel@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Nella and Leon Benoziyo Building for Biological Sciences, 124

Close

  • Dr. Joshua Milgram

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner

    joshua.milgram@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Noy Shaked

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-3514

    noy.shaked@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 568

Close

Translation of the genetic code: protein biosynthesis

  • Mechanisms of decoding and peptide bond formation
  • Antibiotics action and resistance
  • New generation of environmental friendly, species specific antibiotics
  • Origin of life
Close