Research

Close

Crystalline materials in nature

  • Biomineralization-formation of crystals and other aggregated phases in organisms
  • Crystallization in and from cell membranes
  • Cell interactions at interfaces
  • Antibody-Crystal interactions
  • Lotem Alus

    PI: Prof. Lia Addadi

    lotem.alus@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Ofir Friedman

    PI: Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-3514

    ofir.friedman@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 568

  • Noy Shaked

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-2547

    noy.shaked@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

  • Dr. Neta Varsano

    PI: Prof. Lia Addadi

    neta.varsano@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 568

  • Keren Kahil Guterman

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-2547

    keren.kahil@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

  • Odelia Nevo

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    odelia.sibony@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

  • Dr. Jenny Capua Shenkar

    PI: Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-3514

    jenny.capua-shenkar@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 568

Close

Protein interactions by NMR

  • The interaction of HIV-1 envelope glycoprotein with the HIV-1 co-receptor CCR5
  • The interaction of chemokines with CCR5
  • The use of transferred NOE to study intermolecular interactions in large protein complexes
Close

Structural virology & immunology - elucidating the molecular mechanisms of host / pathogen interactions

  • Structural basis for virus cell entry
  • Structural aspects of host immune response against pathogens
  • Novel therapeutic approaches inspired by structural information
Close

Integrated structural enzymology

  • Structures, mechanisms, and regulation of enzymes that catalyze disulfide bond formation
  • Novel structural techniques for studying extracellular matrix assembly
  • Development of potential cancer therapeutics targeting the cell microenvironment
  • Physiological functions of disulfide catalysts in the formation of complex biomaterials
Close

Molecular systems biophysics

  • Single-molecule spectroscopy
  • Protein interactions and dynamics
  • Bio-molecular networks
Close

Cooperativity in protein structure, folding and function

  • Allostery in chaperonins
  • Mechanisms of action of chaperonins
  • Development of methods to study allostery
  • Correlated mutation analysis
Close

Structural systems biology - protein-protein interactions from atoms to cells

  • Proteins self-assembly and self-organization in cells
  • Evolution of the cellular protein machinery
  • Design and engineering of large protein assemblies
Close

Computational molecular biophysics - quantifying the self-assembly mechanisms of biomolecules

  • Understanding the mechanism of DNA search by proteins
  • Deciphering the effect of post-translational modifications on protein biophysics
  • Investigation of folding of multi-domain proteins
Close

Structural biology - structural studies of giant viruses

  • Structure of the giant Mimivirus
  • Infection cycle of the Mimivirus
  • Structure and infection cycle of the chlorella virus PBCV-1
  • Structure of the Pandora virus
Close

Biology - study of large protein complexes through nuclear magnetic resonance

  • Molecular chaperones combating neurodegenerative diseases
  • Protein folding and disaggregation
  • Structure, dynamics, and function of supramolecular complexes
  • Advanced Nuclear Magnetic Resonance techniques
  • Rotem Shalita

    PI: Dr. Rina Rosenzweig

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Atar Gilat

    PI: Dr. Rina Rosenzweig, Dr. Emmanuel Levy

    atar.gilat@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Anna Harari

    PI: Prof. Deborah Fass, Dr. Rina Rosenzweig

    anna.harari@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 651

  • Yuval Tarrab

    PI: Dr. Rina Rosenzweig

    Yuval-Tarrab@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Ivana Petrovic

    PI: Dr. Rina Rosenzweig

    ivana.petrovic@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Guy Zoltsman

    PI: Dr. Rina Rosenzweig

    guy.zoltsman@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 651

  • Dr. Ofrah Nadya Faust

    PI: Dr. Rina Rosenzweig

    ofrah.faust@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 651

  • Dr. Meital Avraham

    PI: Dr. Rina Rosenzweig

    Phone: +972-8-934-3781

    meital.avayev@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 651

Close

Structural biology – structure-function studies of transcription factors and of enzymes from pathogenic bacteria

  • The tumor-suppressor protein p53 and its interaction with DNA
  • Cancer-related p53 mutants and their rescue by suppressor mutations and by small molecules
  • Fatty-acid synthesis enzymes from Mycobacterium tuberculosis as potential drug targets
Close

Structural Biology - Study of macromolecules through cryo-EM

> Structure and function of membrane proteins and their signaling pathways

> Specialized translation

> Single particle cryo-EM

Close

Structure/Function studies of Biomacromolecules

  • Proteins from the nervous system, including Acetylcholinesterase
  • Bioinformatic tools, including Proteopedia, FoldIndex and Dipole Moment Server
  • Proteins involved in decontamination of deadly poisons
  • Dr. Jacob Grunwald

    PI: Prof. Joel Sussman

  • Dr. Michal Harel

    PI: Prof. Joel Sussman

    Phone: +972-8-934-2347

    michal.harel@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Nella and Leon Benoziyo Building for Biological Sciences, 116

Close

Biomineralization

  • Mineral formation in biology
  • Bone 3D structure
  • Tooth-mandible complex
  • Dr. Vlad Brumfeld

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner

    Location: Perlman Chemical Sciences Building, MAMTAK 44

  • Noy Shaked

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-2547

    noy.shaked@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

  • Keren Kahil Guterman

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-2547

    keren.kahil@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

  • Odelia Nevo

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    odelia.sibony@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

Close

Translation of the genetic code: protein biosynthesis

  • Mechanisms of decoding and peptide bond formation
  • Antibiotics action and resistance
  • New generation of environmental friendly, species specific antibiotics
  • Origin of life
  • Sarit Samiya

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    sarit.samiya@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Tal Melenitsky

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath, Prof. Ada Yonath, Prof. Ada Yonath

    Location: Perlman Chemical Sciences Building

  • Tal Melenitsky

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath, Prof. Ada Yonath, Prof. Ada Yonath

    Location: Perlman Chemical Sciences Building

  • Tal Melenitsky

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath, Prof. Ada Yonath, Prof. Ada Yonath

    Location: Perlman Chemical Sciences Building

  • Shavit Keshet

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    Phone: +972-8-934-3022

    shavit.keshet@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 611

  • Roni Admon

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Menachem Shoham

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    Location: Max and Lillian Candiotty Building, 164

  • Andre Rivalta

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    Phone: +972-8-934-3022

    andre.rivalta@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 611

  • Igor Kaczmarczyk

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath, Dr. Moran Shalev-Benami

    igor.kaczmarczyk@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Disha Gajanan Hiregange

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    Phone: +972-8-934-3022

    disha-gajanan.hiregange@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 611

  • PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    Phone: +972-8-934-3028

    maggie.kessler@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 612

  • Dr. Anat Bashan

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    Phone: +972-8-934-4289

    anat.bashan@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 611

  • Dr. Yehuda Halfon

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    yehuda.halfon@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 611

  • Dr. Dmitry Tworowski

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    Phone: +972-8-934-2591

  • Giuseppe Cimicata

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    giuseppe.cimicata@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 607

  • Dr. Tanaya Bose

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    tanaya.bose@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 604

  • Dr. Ella Zimmerman

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    ella.zimmerman@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 317

  • Elinor Breiner Goldshtein

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    Phone: +972-8-934-3022

    elinor.breiner@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 607

  • Shoshana Tel-Or

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    shoshana.tel-or@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 607

  • Dr. Gil Fridkin

    PI: Prof. Ada Yonath

    gil.fridkin@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 610

Close