Research

Close

Crystalline materials in nature

  • Biomineralization-formation of crystals and other aggregated phases in organisms
  • Crystallization in and from cell membranes
  • Cell interactions at interfaces
  • Antibody-Crystal interactions
  • Dr. Gan Zhang

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-3514

    gan.zhang@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 503

  • Nathan Schiffmann

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-3514

    nathan.schiffmann@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 568

  • Eyal Merary Wormesr

    PI: Prof. Lia Addadi

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Keren Kahil Guterman

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-2547

    keren.kahil@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

  • Odelia Nevo

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    odelia.sibony@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

  • Heden Haimov

    PI: Prof. Lia Addadi

    heden.haimov@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Jenny Capua Shenkar

    PI: Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-3514

    jenny.capua-shenkar@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 568

Close

Protein interactions by NMR

  • The interaction of HIV-1 envelope glycoprotein with the HIV-1 co-receptor CCR5
  • The interaction of chemokines with CCR5
  • The use of transferred NOE to study intermolecular interactions in large protein complexes
  • Dr. Suresh Kumar

    PI: Prof. Jacob Anglister

    Phone: +972-8-934-2152

    suresh.kumar@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Naama Kessler

    PI: Prof. Jacob Anglister

    Phone: +972-8-934-3209

    naama.kessler@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 404

Close

Structural virology & immunology - elucidating the molecular mechanisms of host / pathogen interactions

  • Structural basis for virus cell entry
  • Structural aspects of host immune response against pathogens
  • Novel therapeutic approaches inspired by structural information
  • Michael Katz

    PI: Dr. Ron Diskin, Dr. Ron Diskin, Dr. Ron Diskin

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Michael Katz

    PI: Dr. Ron Diskin, Dr. Ron Diskin, Dr. Ron Diskin

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Michael Katz

    PI: Dr. Ron Diskin, Dr. Ron Diskin, Dr. Ron Diskin

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Aliza Katz

    PI: Dr. Ron Diskin

    Phone: +972-8-934-5160

    aliza.katz@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 505

  • Anastasiya Shulman

    PI: Dr. Ron Diskin

    Phone: +972-8-934-5160

    anastasiya.shulman@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 505

  • Dr. Gili Aviv

    PI: Dr. Ron Diskin

    gili.aviv@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Amir Shimon

    PI: Dr. Ron Diskin

    Phone: +972-8-934-5160

    amir.shimon@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 505

  • Dr. Hadas Cohen-Dvashi

    PI: Dr. Ron Diskin

    Phone: +972-8-934-5160

    hadas.cohen@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 505

Close

Integrated structural enzymology

  • Structures, mechanisms, and regulation of enzymes that catalyze disulfide bond formation
  • Novel structural techniques for studying extracellular matrix assembly
  • Development of potential cancer therapeutics targeting the cell microenvironment
  • Physiological functions of disulfide catalysts in the formation of complex biomaterials
Close

Molecular systems biophysics

  • Single-molecule spectroscopy
  • Protein interactions and dynamics
  • Bio-molecular networks
Close

Cooperativity in protein structure, folding and function

  • Allostery in chaperonins
  • Mechanisms of action of chaperonins
  • Development of methods to study allostery
  • Correlated mutation analysis
Close

Computational molecular biophysics - quantifying the self-assembly mechanisms of biomolecules

  • Understanding the mechanism of DNA search by proteins
  • Deciphering the effect of post-translational modifications on protein biophysics
  • Investigation of folding of multi-domain proteins
Close

Structural systems biology - protein-protein interactions from atoms to cells

  • Proteins self-assembly and self-organization in cells
  • Evolution of the cellular protein machinery
  • Design and engineering of large protein assemblies
Close

Structural biology - structural studies of giant viruses

  • Structure of the giant Mimivirus
  • Infection cycle of the Mimivirus
  • Structure and infection cycle of the chlorella virus PBCV-1
  • Structure of the Pandora virus
Close

Biology - study of large protein complexes through nuclear magnetic resonance

  • Molecular chaperones combating neurodegenerative diseases
  • Protein folding and disaggregation
  • Structure, dynamics, and function of supramolecular complexes
  • Advanced Nuclear Magnetic Resonance techniques
Close

Structural biology – structure-function studies of transcription factors and of enzymes from pathogenic bacteria

  • The tumor-suppressor protein p53 and its interaction with DNA
  • Cancer-related p53 mutants and their rescue by suppressor mutations and by small molecules
  • Fatty-acid synthesis enzymes from Mycobacterium tuberculosis as potential drug targets
  • Dr. Vadivel Prabahar

    PI: Prof. Zippora Shakked

    Phone: +972-8-934-3625

    vadivel.prabahar@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 665

  • Dr. Dmitry Golovenko

    PI: Prof. Zippora Shakked

    Phone: +972-8-934-3625

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Gal Raviv

    PI: Prof. Zippora Shakked

    gal.raviv@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Oksana Degtjarik

    PI: Prof. Zippora Shakked

    Phone: +972-8-934-3625

    oksana.degtjarik@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Aviva Kapitkovsky

    PI: Prof. Zippora Shakked

    aviva.kapitkovsky@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Perlman Chemical Sciences Building, 613

Close

Structural biology – structure and function of nervous system proteins & bioinformatics

  • Acetylcholinesterase relation to Alzheimer’s disease & nerve agents
  • β-glucosidase: Mutants linked to Gaucher & Parkinson disease
  • Proteopedia: A way to communicate biomolecular concepts in 3D
  • FoldIndex: Intrinsically Disordered Protein (IDP)
  • Dr. Michal Harel

    PI: Prof. Joel Sussman

    Phone: +972-8-934-2347

    michal.harel@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Nella and Leon Benoziyo Building for Biological Sciences, 116

Close

Biomineralization

  • Mineral formation in biology
  • Bone 3D structure
  • Tooth-mandible complex
  • Dr. Gan Zhang

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-3514

    gan.zhang@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 503

  • Dr. Emeline Raguin

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner

    Phone: +972-8-934-2547

    emeline.raguin@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 563

  • Nathan Schiffmann

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-3514

    nathan.schiffmann@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 568

  • Dr. Yehonatan Ben-Zvi

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner

    yehonatan.ben-zvi@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Benjamin Palmer

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner

    benjamin.palmer@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Lihi Levin

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner

    lihi.levin@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Keren Kahil Guterman

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    Phone: +972-8-934-2547

    keren.kahil@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

  • Odelia Nevo

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner, Prof. Lia Addadi

    odelia.sibony@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 564

  • Dr. Raquel Isidoro Da Silva Maria

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner

    raquel.isidoro@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building

  • Dr. Neta Varsano

    PI: Prof. Stephen Weiner

    Phone: +972-8-934-3514

    neta.varsano@weizmann.ac.il

    Location: Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Building, 568

Close

Translation of the genetic code: protein biosynthesis

  • Mechanisms of decoding and peptide bond formation
  • Antibiotics action and resistance
  • New generation of environmental friendly, species specific antibiotics
  • Origin of life
Close