Our research combines tools and outlooks of structural biology and synthetic organic chemistry to elucidate, sense, and regulate the activities of biomolecules. We use state-of-the-art techniques in electron microscopy, diffraction, nuclear magnetic resonance, molecular dynamics, mass spectrometry, single-molecule spectroscopy, and molecular design. Our department is highly interdisciplinary, at the interface of Biology, Chemistry, and Physics.


New article in eLife journal - Rosie Irwin and Ofrah Faust

“Hsp40s play complementary roles in the prevention of tau amyloid formation”

September 29, 2021
Read more

New paper in JMB

New paper in JMB from Amnon Horovitz’s group (in collaboration with Michal Sharon)

JMB vol. 432, Issue 23

December 13, 2020

Lavi Bigman wins Clifford Felder Prize 2020

Congratulations to Lavi Bigman from Koby Levy's group, for winning the 2020 Clifford Felder Prize for outstanding accomplishments during the Ph.D.

December 13, 2020

Ilia Korobko - eLife paper

Congratulations to Ilia for his paper with Hisham Mazal, Gilad Haran and Amnon Horovitz on measuring protein stability inside the GroEL cage




August 04, 2020

Congratulations to Rosie Irwin

(Rina Rosenzweig & Hagen Hofmann’s groups) on her beautiful MSc thesis defense

July 14, 2020

Congratulations Emmanuel Levy


June 30, 2020

New article published in Nature Nanotechnology - Lia Addadi

June 21, 2020
Read more

Dr. Hadas Cohen-Dvashi deciphered the target of a convergent humoral immune response against the Ebola virus



March 11, 2020
Read more

Tal Feldman, Tal Ilani, and Iris Grossman - paper in Oncotarget

March 11, 2020
Read more

Prof. Joel Sussman - New Honor Announcement

Prof. Joel Sussman awarded Honorary Doctorate from Charles University

March 11, 2020

Meta Heidenreich wins Clifford Felder Prize 2019

Congratulations to Meta Heidenreich, who received the Clifford Felder Prize for outstanding accomplishments during the Ph.D. 

January 06, 2020

Lavi Bigman - JBC paper

Congratulations to Lavi Bigman from Koby Levy's group for his paper (JBC, in press) on resolving a controversy regarding GroEL’s mechanism of action

August 18, 2019

Aliza Katz receives a poster award in the Israel Crystallography Association meeting in the Technion

Aliza Katz from Ron Diskin's group received a poster award in the Israel Crystallography Association Meeting that took place at the Technion in June 2019

June 18, 2019

Neta Varsano receives the Dimitris N. Chorafas Prize of Excellence

 Neta Varsano from Lia Addadi's group received the Dimitris N. Chorafas Prize of excellence in recognition of her PhD accomplishments at the 2019 Annual Graduation Ceremony

July 10, 2019

Prof. Ada Yonath - Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009

For studies of the structure and function of the ribosome

Read more


  • Date:


    November 2021

    Hour: 14:00 - 15:00,Location: Gerhard M.J. Schmidt Lecture Hall
    Event name: Why Chirality Is Essential for Life

    Prof. Ron Naaman, Department of Chemical and Biological Physics Weizmann Institute