About the Institute

The Weizmann Institute of Science is one of the world’s leading multidisciplinary basic research institutions in the natural and exact sciences. It is located in Rehovot, Israel, just south of Tel Aviv. It was initially established as the Daniel Sieff Institute in 1934, by Israel and Rebecca Sieff of London in memory of their son Daniel. In 1949, it was renamed for Dr. Chaim Weizmann, the first President of the State of Israel and Founder of the Institute.

The Weizmann Institute at a glance

The Weizmann Institute has a long history of investigation and discovery rooted in a mission of advancing science for the benefit of humanity. In parallel, it educates a substantial proportion of Israel’s scientific leadership and advances science literacy in schools and among the public.


The leadership of the Weizmann Institute of Science consists of a President and four Vice Presidents, an International and Executive Board, scientific leadership, and administrative units.


The administrative units at the Weizmann Institute of Science support the scientific endeavors to collectively advance the Institute’s agenda of advancing cutting-edge research.

News and Publications

Read about the latest insights and developments from our labs and campus, and news about our worldwide friends.

Visit the campus

A visit to the Weizmann Institute campus can be tailor-made to the group, family, or individual guest and typically includes stops at our Levinson Visitors Center, Weizmann House, and the Clore Garden of Science.


The Weizmann Institute places prime importance on establishing and maintaining the highest standards of excellence, ethics, and integrity, and on ensuring compliance with legislation and research sponsor guidelines. Our codes of conduct are available online.

Our international committees

Philanthropy plays a central role in the advancement of scientific research at the Institute. Be a partner to tomorrow’s science, and reach out to us through our global network of committees in the U.S., Canada, Latin America, the U.K., Europe, and Australia.